LOVE is in the air


For those of you in relationships, I know this years valentines day is most likely looking a bit different, whether that’s because you can’t go out for a meal with your partner or even spend time with that special someone today, but don’t be disheartened, no matter who you’re with today, friends, family, partners, we can all show love…..and not just today but everyday!!!

There are 4 types of love commonly known in the Bible, among a couple others, so today on this LOVEly day, we are going to dive into those and learn more about them and how we can actively show love in those ways.


Agape: A term referring to unconditional love, “the highest form of love, charity” and “the love of God for man and of man for God”

Agape love is probably the most common and spoken about type of love in the bible, as it is the most powerful and most highly referenced type of love in the Bible. It entails sacrifice and an everlasting bond with that person, no matter if they reciprocate or not. The most evident example of this love is God’s love for us, it is eternal and cannot be broken no matter how much we fight it or disappoint God. It is the love of PERFECTION and was perfectly displayed when God sent Jesus to die on the cross for our sins, an act like no other.

The most famous passage about agape love is in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 written by Paul;

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trust, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

A few practical ways you can demonstrate agape love is simply anything that has the pure and simple intent of showing love and demonstrating sacrifice in some sort of way, for example praying for someone until you witness change, helping someone through a difficult time, even telling someone they have a beautiful smile. Agape love will usually resonate in someone’s heart for a long time when received and is such a powerful yet simple way to show Gods love.


Phileo: Based off the city of Philadelphia in the Bible, which was known as the ‘City of brotherly love’

Phileo love defines a love of friendship, shared through devotion and support. Love shared like siblings in a way that each person displays acts of kindness and support with no expectation of receiving the same from that person. It is a love saved specifically for people that make us feel warm and happy, its a love that can’t be shown to enemies because you must feel a certain way to share it (the Bible encourages us to show agape love to enemies and people we clash with). Philia love is also alot about honesty, being upfront with someone but in a way that is loving and not judgemental.

A practical way to show phileo love to your friends is to send them an encouraging message, meet them for a coffee or a walk just to do life together, be there for them through hardships, lift them up in your prayers, be honest with them in a way that drives them to improve themselves not shy away. 


 Storge: familial love that refers to natural and instinctual affection. 

Storge love is based off of loyalty and protection, it is shared between anyone seen as family, the unbreakable bond of parent and child, siblings, husbands and wives, niece and aunt etc.  It can withstand many trials and is very powerful. In the Bible, Storge love can be seen in Martha and Mary in their love for Lazarus. On the contrary, storge love is very absent in the story of Caine and Abel. 

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.

ROMANS 12:10 [NIV]

Practical ways to show storge love to family is to not hold grudges against one another, give each other time and quality time not spent on your phones or distracted but solely gibing your attention to that person, show gratitude to each other. 


Eros: Sensual and passionate love, where the word ‘erotic’ derived from.

Eros love is the sexual and intimate love shared between two people in a relationship and is a gift from God for married couples so that they may express their love for each other and maintain the human race through the act of sex and physical unity. Eros love is the only type of love that, if not used properly, can become a sin if used without boundaries. It can tear relationships apart if focused solely on one person’s gratification, which contrasts agape, storge, and phileo love as they seek to strengthen relationships by emphasizing kindness and sacrifice toward others.

(I think the way we can demonstrate eros love is self explanatory!!)

This valentines day, if you aren’t spending time with a partner I encourage you to practice one of the 3 types of love (agape, phileo and storge) with your friends and family to show your appreciation and devotion to them.

God bless,

Avatar About Author

Maddy has just completed her A-Levels and is now planning to take a gap year to do some missionary work. She is super excited to discover what God has in store for her during and after this gap year.

No Comments

    Leave a Reply